Maple & Oak – Menteng, Jakarta

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Maple and oak is a new all-day brunch place at De-Ritz building that has just open a few weeks ago.

The name itself is already convincing enough as a brunch place, I can feel the soft autumn breeze brushing my cheeks already (#drama).

It’s still a fairly new place, the place is almost always packed with people. I have visited the place twice now and I spotted the owner of the restaurant hanging out around the place, personally serve guests, and even asked feedback regarding how the food tastes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As the name suggests, Maple & Oak serves mainly brunch food. There wasn’t too much menu choices, but it has just the right amount of variety to serve your brunch-appetite palate.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Coffee Butter Steak & Eggs – IDR138,000++
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Coffee Butter steak & eggs

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I haven’t tried many variety of steak & eggs my whole life, but this is definitely one of the best! The steak was cooked medium-well, very tender and it was served bite-sized to ease you. The poached eggs was cooked on point, you can see its golden lava melting through perfectly! I would really love this dish more if it came in hot, because it was kind of cold when it was served on the table.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Maple Butter Brioche – IDR78,000++
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Maple Butter Brioche

P7020935_small.JPGThis is also one of their signature menu. I didn’t find this menu to be quite as captivating as it claims to be, but it really isn’t that bad at all. The Omelet served was decent (then again, I wish it could be served while still hot, I think most of the dishes was left cold for quite sometime as the waiters was too busy catering to many guests). The butter used wasn’t too buttery at all! In fact, it was more like a mixture of butter and kaya jam with a hint of truffle. I think truffle lovers would definitely love this selection.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

20160704_144105
Salmon Eggs Benedict – IDR83,000++
20160704_144209
Salmon Eggs Benedict

20160704_144150

I really expect much from their salmon benedict, but it didn’t really match my expectation. First of all I think that the price is a bit much for the size and quality that the dish offers. Second of all the taste was quite bland for me. I was also quite curious as to why they should dye the salmon red, it looks like tuna instead of salmon. Me and my friends was actually a bit ‘scared’ to eat the red salmon, I thought that the regular golden-orange colored salmon would be just fine and healthier as well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Mascarpone Lychee Berry – IDR48,000++

I have been literally HAUNTED by this dessert since the restaurant first opened, it was all over the social media, I just HAVE to try it!

I really like this dessert, especially since I am a huge fan of cheese. The mascarpone cheese mousse was very light, smooth, and not too sweet. They sprinkle some meringue buttons, homemade granola, sliced fruits, and edible flowers (yep!). It really adds some crunch, texture, fragrance and flavor. I would really recommend this one as a must have item during your visit to Maple and Oak for any cheese/dessert lover out there.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Cold Brew Coffee – IDR40,000++

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They also sell cold brew coffee right beside the cashier counter. I was really attracted because of the bottle they use so I decided to buy one at IDR40,000++.

It wasn’t true cold brew coffee in my friend’s (a coffee lover) opinion, because it’s too milky and a bit sweet. However as a non-avid coffee lover, I quite like it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On a small side note, the restaurant still can’t cater to credit/debit cards, so all payments should be in cash. Worry not, because there is an ATM machine right outside the restaurant ๐Ÿ™‚

Overall I really have a pleasant visit at Maple and Oak. The food was decent and I would really recommend it for anyone craving for some all-day brunch menu!

Maple & Oak Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

De Ritz Building, Lantai Ground, Jl. HOS. Cokroaminoto No. 91, Menteng, Jakarta

Leave a Reply

