Le Quartier – Senopati, Jakarta

Le Quartier is a French restaurant adopting a casual fine dining style. The establishment has been around since 2013. Seeing as restaurants turnover has been very fast nowadays, Le Quartier must have had its own ‘X-Factor’ to be able to reign in the increasingly vast and competitive food industry in Jakarta.

It was my Dad’s birthday and I was thinking of bringing my parents for a nice birthday lunch. I want somewhere nice and fancy, but not too formal and stuffy because I still want the warm, family atmosphere around. After browsing for some time, I found Le Quartier’s name often pop-up in several recommendation boards so I decided to it a try.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The restaurant has this vintage/retro/classic style, which makes it more casual with a touch of ‘class’ into it. There is a big wall painted with their signature mural painting, if not for the amount of people present during my visit, I must have taken a few shots of myself over there already!

Not everyone that comes here dress-up too much, but everyone certainly emits a certain behavior/body gestures that is a bit different from when you enter a casual restaurant.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Complimentary Bread

Like any French fine dining establishment, Le Quartier also offer their own signature complimentary bread. They came fresh from the oven so it was still warm, soft on the inside and crisp on the outside.

I initially only wanted to order 3 menus for 3 people, but the waitress misheard us when we wanted to REPLACE an item with another. Instead of replacing the items, they added BOTH items to our order. Well I thought since it was such a nice occasion for us that day, I wouldn’t make much of a fuss about it. We were so stuffed that day and ended up having one of the dish taken away to eat at home.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Assorted Mushroom Risotto – IDR164,000++

My mom proclaimed that among all the mushroom risottos she had so far, this one was actually the best mushroom risotto! It was very light, savory, and not overly creamy. The truffle fragrant was not too much and it wasn’t overwhelming.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Assorted Mushroom Risotto
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Assorted Mushroom Risotto

Bits of fresh soy peas that is slightly bitter yet added a whole new taste and blend to the dish, the mushroom pieces was quite generous too. In fact, all the meal portions over Le Quartier was very generous

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Prime Beef Burger – IDR176,000++

When the burger arrives at our table, everyone was holding themselves from drooling over the table while I take a few quick shots.

The beef was very thick and juicy, char-grilled and minced to order. Most often, beef patties were given too much fats in the mixture, but this one wasn’t too fatty, I can taste the bits of pure minced meat inside! The french fries was superb too!

My mom is very sensitive towards any food that is beef-related. Beef can be quite tricky because the freshness, type, and source of the beef can really affect its smell and taste. Thus I was very nervous the moment she took the first bite out of this burger, luckily she truly loved this yet amazing dish.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Roasted half chicken – IDR176,000++
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Roasted Half Chicken

I was really counting on this dish because if all else fail, chicken would usually be the safest bet. Yep, this one wasn’t disappointing either, it was SUPERB! I wouldn’t be exaggerating if I say it was one of the best roasted chicken I’ve had.

The roasted chicken was very tender and juicy, down to the most inner parts of the chicken! Most often many restaurants fail to marinade roasted chicken, leaving its inner-most part a bit hard, plain, and bland, but Le Quartier sure did a good job at this. The consistency of the chicken meat from start to finish was perfect. The chicken was as if soaked in various spices – very savory and tender, I could easily cut it with mere spoon and fork.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Roasted Half Chicken

Don’t judge the portion by its picture. Despite looking like a small lump of chicken meat in the picture, it was BIG in real-life. it’s literally HALF CHICKEN, so you should definitely fill your hungry stomach with this.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Classic Margherita – IDR146,000++
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Classic Margherita

This is one of the best stone-baked pizza I’ve ever tasted. The crust was thin-crusted, but it was slightly soft and thick on the inner side of the pizza, and slowly becoming crispier towards the outer side of the pizza. The cheese topping was definitely very generous, and the smell of tomatoes & cheese (margherita) was very APPETIZING!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Classic Margherita
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Classic Margherita

It’s quite obvious that this pizza is definitely hand-tossed, stone-grilled, and specially made to order by professional hands.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Despite the waitress that makes a mistake when inputting our order, I was still satisfied because everything tasted so good. I don’t mind paying the slightly expensive prices because I thought that given the ambiance, portion, taste, and service of the place, it was definitely worth it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone. The first thing I thought about French fine dining was often their beautiful & sophisticated presentation in expense of their ridiculously small portions. However, Le Quartier offers you great food with HUGE portions without sacrificing the presentation of the food.

This was actually one of the many reasons I decided that my dad’s birthday lunch would be at Le Quartier – I wanted my family to come out both with a happy heart AND happy tummy, and we sure did came out of Le Quartier with a happy tummy!

Le Quartier Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato
Jl. Gunawarman No. 34, Senopati, Jakarta

 

Leave a Reply

