Republic of Burger – Kemang, Jakarta

Burgers for lunch? Sure! However, today burgers are heavily ‘resized’ to fit into relatively smaller Asian appetite, are you going to feel satisfied with one small burger?

Don’t worry because Republic of Burgers (RoB) served EVERYTHING in GIANT PORTIONS! The burger, patties, and everything else that accompany will come in portions that is sure to stuff yourself full.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Republic of Burger has several branches now in Jakarta, but I tried their branch at Kemang. Although the place was small, it wasn’t that hard to find it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The place wasn’t too big, but they’ve made sure to decorate it as cozy and as home-like as possible. Smoking room is also available, separated by glass window and door.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Before going into the food details, I would like to share an experience of mine that I think would serve as an important feedback for RoB’s management.

While I was happily about to eat those tasty looking burgers, I was quite taken aback because something was actively wiggling on top of my lettuce. Yep, it was a caterpillar! I immediately inform the waiter, and thankfully new batch of fresh burgers were made.

However, he only change the burgers but not my fries. At RoB, french fries are add-ons with extra charge. I was quite disappointed because of the service. There was no apologetic sign whatsoever, and in the end, I still have to pay for a batch of fries I ended up not eating because it was taken away and never came back.

Anyway, let’s move forward and talk about those giant burgers!

Jack’s Ultimate Monster Burger – IDR77,000++

These are 250grams of Australian Wagyu Beef patties with their special Jack Daniels sauce, bacon, double cheese,  and onion rings. It’s one of their signature manu so we decided to order this one. All burgers at RoB are pretty similar in my opinion, it all depends on what kind of toppings you would like your burger to come with.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Jack’s Ultimate Monster – IDR77,000++

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looks good, isn’t it? The slices of bacon even adds to the savory taste of this burger!

Mac & Cheese Monster – IDR64,000

As the name say, this one was accompanied by bits of mac & cheese. As I’ve said before, the quality and taste of the patties was kind of similar and all very good and tasty. What would differentiate them would be the toppings.

The patties was very thick and juicy, but what bothers me would be the mac & cheese. It was not as cheesy and as creamy as I wanted it to be, a bit too sweet to my taste too.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Mac & Cheese Monster – IDR64,000++

The Republican Monster Burger – IDR73,000++

This was very similar to the Jack Ultimate Monster, except they had sauteed onions instead of onion rings.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The Republican Monster – IDR73,000++
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The Republican Monster – IDR73,000++

Looks good isn’t it? Enough to make us all drool!

Mushroom Gravy Monster Burger -IDR61,000++

Compared to the other monsters I’ve tried, this one was quite plain. Yet the juicy patty and the delicious mushroom gravy didn’t fail to entice me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Mushroom Gravy Monster  – IDR61,000++

As I’ve stated above, french fries was not included, so you have to explicitly ask the waiter if you want a full set meal with french fries. Regular string shoes fries would cost you IDR12,000++ while fancier cuts like the curly or waffle fries would cost you IDR15,000++.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Overall I must say that this is a very satisfying burger. It was quite pricey, even after considering its price, but burger lovers should definitely give it a try.

Other than the service and the tiny accident I’ve experienced, it would be a pleasant place to have a nice burger and a long chat with your family and friends.

The Republic of Burger Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato
Jl. Kemang Selatan Raya, No. 150 D4, Kemang, Jakarta

 

Leave a comment